School Boards Within OSSU

There are a total of six school boards within OSSU serving six schools in six towns across four counties. Each board has specific responsibilities based on Vermont law and individual school district charters. Some boards have developed websites to remain in communication with their communities.
Each school board is the Board of Trustees for education on behalf of its community. It is entrusted with assuring that the young people of the community receive a high quality education and that taxpayers receive a positive return on their investment.

School Boards within OSSU

School Boards Within OSSU

Committees Within OSSU

Role of a School Board

The Vermont School Board Association outlines seven main roles and related responsibilities of school boards, summarized below:

Want to Join a School Board?

​School board membership is a rewarding and challenging form of public service. It requires a commitment of time and energy, thoughtful deliberation, and clear communication. Here are a few details for community members seeking to become a school board director.